Walking Mary's Well

A live travel blog, archaeological adventure in Israel, December 2012.

The Team

Maha Darawsha excavating at Mary's Well in Nazareth.

Excavating at Mary's Well in Nazareth.

Maha Darawsha

Maha Darawsha is the co-director of the University of Hartford Archaeological projects in Israel and is a professor of Arabic language and Culture at the University of Connecticut.

Email: darawsha_maha@hotmail.com

Shalom Yanklovitz assisting with the excavation in Nazareth.

Assisting with the excavation in Nazareth.

Shalom Yanklovitz

Shalom Yanklovitz is a co-director of the Mary's Well and Yavne Excavations on behalf of the University of Haifa.

Email: Shalomyaster@gmail.com

Richard Freund outside the Greek Orthodox Church of the Annunciation.

Outside the Greek Orthodox Church of the Annunciation.

Richard Freund

Richard Freund is the co-director of the University of Hartford Archaeological Excavations Projects in Israel. He is the Maurice Greenberg Professor of History and the Greenberg Center for Judaic Studies at the University of Hartford.

Email: Freund@Hartford.edu

Phone: 860-768-4964

Fax: 860-768-5044

Harry Jol within the walls of El-Jazzar Mosque.

Within the walls of El-Jazzar Mosque.

Harry Jol

Harry Jol is the Chief Geoscientist for the University of Hartford Archaeological Projects in Israel. He is a professor in the dept of Geography and Anthropology at the University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire.

Email: Jolhm@uwec.edu

Phone: 715-836-3472

Fax: 715-836-6027

Nicholas Jaeger atop the Mamluk Tower at Tel Yavne.

In Jerusalem.

Nicholas Jaeger

Nicholas Jaeger is the technology consultant and web developer for the University of Hartford Archaeological Projects in Israel. He is also beta testing an application, code-named dp3, the result of collaborative he is invoved with through the University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire.

Email: Jaegernh@uwec.edu

Vanessa Workman at Mary's Well in Nazareth.

At Mary's Well in Nazareth.

Vanessa Workman

Vanessa Workman is a staff member for the University of Hartford Archaeological Projects in Israel and is a graduate student in archaeology at Tel Aviv University.

Email: Vanessa@mail.tau.ac.il

Philip Reeder surverying outside the Greek Orthodox Church of the Annunciation.

Surverying outside the Greek Orthodox Church of the Annunciation.

Philip Reeder

Philip Reeder is the Chief Cartographer and Geographer for the University of Hartford's Archaeological Excavations Projects in Israel. He is a professor of environmental studies and geography at the University of South Florida.

Email: Preeder@cas.usf.edu

Paul Bauman working at Tel-Yavne.

Working at Tel-Yavne.

Paul Bauman

Paul Bauman, Senior Geophysicist at WorleyParsons, based in Calgary, Canada is the chief geophysicist of the University of Hartford projects in Israel.

Email: Paul.Bauman@WorleyParsons.com

Randy Shinduke working behind the Greek Orthodox Church of the Annunciation.

Working behind the Greek Orthodox Church of the Annunciation.

Randy Shinduke

Randy Shinduke is a consulting geophysicist with our Israeli projects and works at WorleyParsons.

Email: Randy.Shinduke@WorleyParsons.com

Gary Hochman inside the Hospitaller Fortress in the old city of Akko.

Inside the Hospitaller Fortress in the old city of Akko.

Gary Hochman

Gary Hochman has more than 25 years of experience producing science programming for PBS, his work includes the PBS NOVA special, "Ancient Refuge in the Holy Land" on the Dead Sea Cave of Letters excavations. He is documenting our science research at Mary's Well and the Church of the Annunciation (Greek Orthodox) in Nazareth.

Email: GHochman@netad.unl.edu

Jane Burkhart in the Christmas market at Nazareth.

In the Christmas market at Nazareth.

Jane Burkhart

Jane Burkhart is a member of the excavation team for University of Hartford Archaeological Projects in Yavne and the Nazareth. Jane is a health care volunteer in Tel Aviv.

Email: Janethoroughlyclean@yahoo.com

Yossi Salmon reading the ground penetrating radar output.

Reading the ground penetrating radar output.

Yossi Salmon

Yossi, who is a ground penetrating radar expert, worked with Professor Jol on GPR profiles of the Church of the Annunciation project.

Email: Yossi.salmon@gmail.com

Sharif Sharif-Safady explaining the site at the Greek Orthodox Church of the Annunciation.

Explaining the site at the Greek Orthodox Church of the Annunciation.

Sharif Sharif-Safady

Dr. Sharif Sharif-Safady works on behalf of the Municipality of Nazareth coordinating archaeological and cultural collaborations.

Email: shareef.s@nazareth.muni.il